Prince William County School Board Takes Oath Of Office At Swearing-In Ceremony


The newly elected Prince William County School Board was sworn into office on Thursday, Dec. 14, 2023. The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Edward L. Kelly Leadership Center. The event began with a reception at 5 p.m. followed by a ceremony at 6 p.m.

Mitzi Turner, deputy clerk of the court for Prince William County, conducted the swearing-in ceremony for returning School Board members, including PWCS Chairman At-Large Dr. Babur Lateef, Vice Chairwoman Jennifer Wall (Gainesville), Justin Wilk (Potomac), Loree Williams (Woodbridge), and Lisa Zargarpur (Coles). Turner also conducted the swearing-in of newly elected members R.M. Jessie (Occoquan), Tracy Blake (Neabsco), and Erica Tredinnick (Brentsville).

Dr. Lateef congratulated the School Board members and shared the importance of the community’s support of our students.

“As we embark on this path together, remember we do not walk alone,” he said. “We are supported by a community that values education, by parents who dream of a better future for their children, by teachers who dedicate their lives to igniting young minds, and by students who look to us for guidance and inspiration. While we all may not always agree on how to move forward, we must be committed to moving forward. This collaboration is the cornerstone of our success as a School Board and as a community.”

The 2024-28 School Board will begin their four-year terms on January 1, 2024. The board will elect a vice-chairperson at its organizational meeting on January 3, 2024.

Congratulations to the newly elected Prince William County School Board.

Prince William County Schools, school board, swearing in, PWCS Chairman At-Large, Dr. Babur Lateef, Vice Chairwoman, Jennifer Wall, Gainesville, Justin Wilk, Potomac, Loree Williams, Woodbridge, Lisa Zargarpur, Coles, newly elected members, R.M. Jessie, Occoquan, Tracy Blake, Neabsco, Erica Tredinnick, Brentsville, Mitzi Turner